Система Orphus

Kazakhstan pioneers a new tradition in UN Security Council

03.01.2019, 21:23 4457
Belgium, Germany, the Dominican Republic, Indonesia, and South Africa have taken over as the UN Security Council's non-permanent members from Bolivia, Kazakhstan, the Netherlands, Sweden and Ethiopia that have completed their missions.

The first solemn ceremony of accession to the UN Security Council of the new non-permanent members was held at the initiative of Kazakhstan in January 2018 during its presidency of the UNSC. The UN member states called this novelty as a 'bright calling card' of Kazakhstan.

The changing of the flags of the UNSC non-permanent members against the press wall in front of the Security Council hall was of a purely technical nature. Since the introduction of the new tradition, this procedure has turned into an official event with a wide attendance of representatives of the UN member states and top-tier global media outlets accredited to the United Nations.

The solemn ceremony aims at demonstrating the recognition and respect to the new members of the UNSC. The Council's all 15 members unanimously confirmed that the ceremony would be a yearly tradition of the UNSC," said permanent representative of Kazakhstan to the UN Kairat Umarov.

Taking into consideration the significance of and huge attention to the event, the Ambassador spoke of the intention of Kazakhstan to keep up the tradition in the future. He wished great achievements to maintain the peace and security to the new non-permanent members of the UN Security Council during their work in the main UN body, calling it a unique opportunity and honor for any state to be a member of the UN Security Council.

To demonstrate deep respect to the UN Security Council and its members, the permanent representation of Kazakhstan presented special hand-made stands for the flags of the UNSC member states, manufactured in Kazakhstan and made in the national style, to the United Nations.

The event was attended by Foreign Minister of the Dominican Republic Miguel Vargas, the permanent representatives of Belgium, Germany, Indonesia, South Africa, the permanent representatives of the states that have completed their missions to the UN Security Council, other states, as well as representatives of the UN Secretariate and media.

Kazakhstan has completed its two-year work as a non-permanent member of the UN Security Council on December 31, 2018.

Source: BNews.kz

This information may not be reproduced without reference to Kazakhstan Today. Copyright of materials of News Agency Kazakhstan Today.

When citing our content a hyperlink to this Kazakhstan Today website is obligatory.


relevant news

Most read